2020 Reading Challenge

A Year in Review & Top Recommendations

Davis Levine
4 min readJan 1, 2021

Another year and another reading challenge complete! I surpassed my goal of reading 100 books with a total of 102. However, it’s not as much as the 112 books from 2019. At the start of the pandemic I thought my reading time would go up, but I found that my reading habits really didn’t change much. I also chose to read some longer titles this year, and this turned out to be a great choice because some of the longest books were also my favourites!

Of note in my 2020 reading challenge were the choice of topics based on current events. With the murder of George Floyd and the monumental uprising of Black Lives Matter, I chose particular titles that looked at the systems of racism in North America and state violence. Some notable titles in this list:

One other major change in 2020 was using a Kobo eReader for the majority of my reading. This was an early pandemic purchase when libraries closed and my only access to books was through eBooks. This was a game…

--

--

Davis Levine

President and principal service designer at Public/s Design. Trying to connect design and policy in the public sector. www.davislevine.com & www.publics.design